I know CNY is not until this monday.

January 24, 2009

ox

Chinese New Year to me is more or less like Christmas, except that on Christmas we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ. According to the Chinese tradition, family members should dine together on the first day or night of the auspicious event. Although I’m not purely 100% Chinese, it still runs in my blood. Kadazan -Chinese is my family’s root, both from my maternal and paternal side. Having the chance to celebrate Chinese New Year and Christmas is pretty fun you know. So annually, my family will have an open house for Christmas so as Chinese New year.

Sadly, this is the third year of me spending Chinese New Year in peninsular. Three years without Ang Pau’s reminds me of those years when I was just a kid. I used to receive lots of red packets (ANG PAU) from uncles, aunties and from open houses that I attended. When I was in middle school my dad started giving us more amount of cash inside the thing we called Ang Pau.. The amount inside it meant a lot to me and my siblings. Well,we were typically money minded during our childhood time. Hahaha.. As I grew older and older I began to receive lesser and lesser and sometimes none. As for now, I couldn’t be happier as long as I’m at home with my family during Chinese New Year. The Ang Pau thing is not really important as you grow wiser. I still wish to have Ang Pau’s but only for good luck wish, not the value inside it. Red symbolizes Hong(luck). More Red means more and more luck to come.

cny

ZHU NI XINNIAN KUAILE. GONGXI GONGXI, GONGXI FACAI. WISHING YOU A PROSPEROUS CHINESE NEW YEAR 2009.

MAY THE YEAR OF OX BRINGS MORE HONG AND JOY TO YOU!

Leave a Reply

